321-283-5345
membership@flpress.com

Category: Special Features

Understanding Periodicals session, Things You Forgot — Or Maybe Never Knew — About Periodicals

Join us for the Max Heath Postal Institute™ Understanding Periodicals session, Things You Forgot — Or Maybe Never Knew — About Periodicals on Thursday, June 23, at 4 p.m. ET/3 p.m. CT/2 p.m. MT/1 p.m. PT. This Zoom session will cover some fundamentals that are baked into most newspapers’ Periodical usage. But why are they…
Read more

Nominations Open For The Parker Thomson Awards For Outstanding Legal Journalism In Florida And The Susan Spencer-Wendel Lifetime Achievement Award

Nominations are now open for The Parker Thomson Awards for Outstanding Legal Journalism in Florida and the Susan Spencer-Wendel Lifetime Achievement Award. The entry deadline is April 4, 2022. Submit entries here. The first-place award recipient for The Parker Thomson Awards for Outstanding Legal Journalism in Florida will receive a cash prize of $500, a plaque and travel…
Read more

Entry Period Now Open for $3,000 Brechner Freedom of Information Award

GAINESVILLE, FL. (Feb. 9, 2022) – Then entry period is now open for the 2022 Brechner Center for Freedom of Information Award, recognizing excellence in news reporting across all media platforms that was aired or published during 2021. The $3,000 cash award seeks to reward journalism published by a U.S.-based news organization, or collaborative of…
Read more

Mega-Conference Returns to Orlando, Focuses on the Future of the News Industry

America’s Newspapers is proud to bring the News Industry Mega-Conference back to Florida! We hope you will join us in Orlando on April 10-12 for what promises to be a dynamic and informative conference. While the past few years have certainly presented challenges, what’s clearer than ever is the vital role that newspapers play in…
Read more

How Florida’s newspapers grew, prospered and struggled

It was 1782, the last year of the American Revolution, when British loyalist Dr. William Charles Wells arrived in St. Augustine. The South Carolinian brought with him a pressman, a “considerable amount of printer’s type,” and a dream. On Feb. 1, 1783, Wells launched Florida’s first newspaper, The East-Florida Gazette. In its third issue, readers learned…
Read more

$25,000 Collier Prize for State Government Accountability

The entry period for the UF College of Journalism and Communications $25,000 Collier Prize for State Government Accountability is now open. The prize, now in its third year, honors the best in state government investigative and political reporting in every state. The prize is one of the largest journalism awards in the nation. We encourage…
Read more