Hall of Fame

The Florida Newspaper Hall of Fame recognizes individuals who have rendered outstanding service in the field of newspaper journalism in Florida.


Nominations to the Hall of Fame are accepted any time, but the deadline for consideration in the current year is April 15. Include a one or two page letter with a bio of the nominee and a paragraph of why you believe they should be included in the Newspaper Hall of Fame. Nominees are eligible for selection to the Hall of Fame normally no earlier than the third year following their retirement or death. The Florida Newspaper Hall of Fame Committee will meet once a year to review the nominees. Read Hall of Fame policies and procedures

Florida Newspaper Hall of Fame Members

Inducted in

John “Jody” Delzell began his newspaper career as a reporter at the Crescent City Courier in 1947.

Inducted in

David Lawrence Jr. retired in 1999 as publisher of The Miami Herald to work in the area of early childhood development and readiness.

Inducted in

Carrol Dadisman graduated from the University of Georgia College of Journalism in 1956.

Inducted in

Settle was prominent in Florida weekly newspaper circles from the 1930s through the 1960s and was a leader of the Florida Press Association during

Inducted in

Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer (retired) of the St. Petersburg Times.

Inducted in

Before retiring June 30, 2002, Corbin had been active in Florida newspapering since 1974 and in the newspaper business

Inducted in

Derek Dunn-Rankin started his newspaper career as a paperboy for the Miami News.

Inducted in

Alvah H Chapman Jr.'s vision as a newspaper executive cemented the role of The Miami Herald as a powerhouse of Florida journalism and has had a las

Inducted in

In April 1951, Simpson founded the weekly newspaper to report on news and developments of Blacks in Northeast Florida at a time when most newspaper

Inducted in

Elven Grubbs' newspaper career spanned 40 years from his job as a pressman with the Ocala Star Banner in 1947 until his retirement in February 1992